Skip to main content

Reception Curriculum

The Foundation Stage Curriculum covers 7 areas of learning, 3 of which are prime areas and underpin everything that we do. They are Personal Social and Emotional Development, Physical Development and Communication and Language. In addition there are 4 specific areas which are taught daily - Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding of the World and Expressive Arts and Design. Miss Clark teaches through a theme,enjoying cross-curricular learning both inside and outside. YR visit the school garden once a week for outdoor schools.

Reception Topics

  • Ourselves
  • Sparkles in the Dark
  • A Bucketful of Dinosaurs
  • Superheroes
  • A Bugs Life
  • Important Celebrations around the World
  • Seasons